Forum

Life Balance & having purpose  

RSS

Rach Lynch
(@rachlynch)
Member Admin
27/03/2019 2:21 pm  

I recently wrote an article about my life off the pitch and how my time spent working and volunteering helps me to become a better athlete. Throughout my journey as a coach I have heard people say they want to give up certain areas of their life so they can concentrate on their hockey. Some of the Hockeyroos and Kookaburras have done this too but it is an area that the Australian Institute of Sport is working towards changing. Studies have shown that athletes with other areas of focus in their lives have longer and more successful careers. The reason the AIS are looking into it are more around mental health as we know that when sport does not go well or athletes transition out this is a danger time for mental health issues. Having other areas in your life to focus on can make a huge difference.

You can have a read of the article here

sanabas
(@sanabas)
18/04/2019 4:43 pm  

This was an interesting read.

Do you think your desire to always be busy, the drive to fit in as much as possible, is shared by a lot of elite athletes? I don't have that drive, if I try and fit in too many things my brain overloads, and that's part of why I don't think I'd manage the mental demands of reaching that level in sport, regardless of my talent.

How do you frame the advice to be more well-rounded, to maintain interests & work outside of hockey, especially if it's a younger athlete who is very focused, very driven, and interprets time spent doing other stuff as time not spent working towards their long-term goal of playing elite sport? Or interprets planning for life away from sport as undermining the self-confidence required to reach that goal, as an implicit acknowledgement that the goal might not be achieved?